Showing posts with label fitness. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fitness. Show all posts
no image

As a former collegiate athlete, I tend to gravitate towards athletic clothes any chance I get. I’ve pretty much worn anything even remotely acceptable to the gym, some of which I’m not necessarily proud of. Lately, I’ve been really trying to step it up when it comes to my gym attire. Not only does it make me look like less of a hot mess, but it keeps me motivated because sometimes you have to look good to feel good right? 

Allow me to introduce you to Sweaty Betty. If you don’t know of them already, you probably should. They carry everything from yoga pants to sports bras, athletic tanks to ski jackets. If that doesn’t constitute a one stop shop, I don’t know what does. Most of their clothing is right on point with prices at other large retailers so there shouldn’t be a huge sticker shock. Plus, the quality of the merchandise is solid.


sweatybetty


Of all their selection, I’m really into the sports bras and leggings. For someone (like myself) who is more well-endowed than most, having proper support while working out is absolutely key. The Galaxy Padded Bra has thick straps and comes in a really cool pattern so you don’t have to feel like you’re strapped into some ugly mess of fabric. It has an adjustable strap too so that you can customize the fit to your body and the sweat-wicking material makes it perfect for the warmer weather that’s creeping in.

 For leggings, I recommend trying the Chandrasana Yoga Legging or the Supta Reversible Yoga Leggings. Both have a streamlined design and come in colors other than just black which make spicing up your workout wardrobe that much easier. They also have seams that prevent chafing which is a HUGE plus in my book. Do yourself a favor and buy them both so you don’t have to decide – I’m giving you permission! 

Click over to SweatyBetty.com to start shopping now! If you’re also a Sweaty Betty fan, leave a comment! I’d love to know what you think.


Chlorine


As many of you know, I swam all throughout high school and college (Go Bullets!). It was the best way to stay in shape, I loved my team, and there was nothing sweeter than beating our rivals at conferences. However, now that I am not required to be swimming between the hours of 4 and 6 every day, I've been struggling to stay motivated while working out. 

I recently made the switch from the YMCA to the BSC here in Boston. I love the Y and definitely feel a sense of loyalty to it as I grew up swimming in those pools, but the BSC offers me more classes and better equipment to train on. A couple of weeks ago, I added to my regular gym routine by joining the UXF ripped program. Let me tell you, it's like field hockey preseason and dry land rolled into one hour of pain. But... it's totally addicting and worth it. 

I will say though, I miss the pool a lot. It has been frustrating getting in the pool and only having the motivation to swim 1200 yards. "Come on Kayte, you used to be able to swim at least triple this, easily, in college!" Truth. My endurance was much better and I was stronger than I am now. I suppose there are pros and cons to not swimming as much: no more man shoulders, no extra layer of insulation to worry about... but then again I also have to watch what I eat and can't house an entire bag of goldfish without thinking twice. So there's that. 

So, in honor of missing swimming and the feeling it gives me, I will be spending my morning watching the Natalie Coughlin race videos that used to pump me up before meets. If you used to swim, I think you will appreciate this.

Have an amazing Friday and a great weekend and if you're going to the Hunt, see you there!
xoxo



no image

workout 2



Working out has always been a huge part of my life. I started dancing at a young age and from there went on to play three sports in high school, followed by varsity swimming at the collegiate level. It has definitely been a bit of a struggle getting motivated now that I'm no longer part of a team, but I've found that signing up for 5k's and the like make it a lot easier to get to the gym.

One thing I must stress is proper footwear! I know that designer Nike shoes are all the rage but the reality of it is, they're terrible for your feet. If you're like me and don't have perfect arches (most people don't!) you need a shoe with better support and structure. Luckily, brands like Saucony and Asics now come in bright, stylish colors!

Now don't get me wrong, just because Nike shoes aren't the best doesn't mean I don't love me some Nike apparel. Their sports bras? Awesome. Shorts? You got it dude! I would recommend stocking up when they have a sale because, really, who doesn't need a ton of cute workout clothes? That's what I thought.

So get out there, sweat your butt off, and look cute while doing it! I'll see you all at the gym! xoxo